The Official World Curling Federation
Sochi 2014 Olympic Games Website
07th - 23rd February 2014

Olympic Qualification

The Olympic Curling Competition in Sochi in 2014 will be comprised of 10 teams for Men and Women.

• The top 7 Associations (excluding Russia) who have collected the most qualifying points from the World Curling Championships (WCCs) held in 2012 and 2013 will qualify.

• Any eligible Association that earned qualification points at the 2012 or 2013 WCCs, or participated at the 2011 WCCs, who do not qualify for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games as the host, or as one of the top 7 Associations, may enter the new Olympic Qualification Event (OQE) which will be run by the WCF in December 2013.

• The top two teams from the OQE also qualify their Association (National Olympic Committee) for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games.

Points are awarded according to final ranking of the 12 participating teams in WCCs as follows: 14 – 12 – 10 – 9 – 8 – 7 – 6 – 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1

* Russia as host country for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games has guaranteed qualification.

** Great Britain qualification points gained by Scotland at World Championships.


    MEN Sochi 2014 CURLING OWGPDF170Kb   
    WOMEN Sochi 2014 CURLING OWGPDF239Kb   
Some files may require programs or viewers to open or view the download: Acrobat Reader

Share this page

More Information